The Rebecca Ledger

All companies · US · fiscal 2025

Starbucks

1,794times · chief executive pay ÷ median employee pay calculated

It would take Starbucks's median employee 1,794 years to earn what its chief executive earned in one. That is above the 312 to 1 average across the S&P 500 in 2025.

The prior year, counting a sign-on stock grant, the disclosed gap was 6,666 to 1 — the widest in the S&P 500. The median here is not annualized: Starbucks' workforce is heavily part-time, which lowers the denominator.

Show the evidence
Source
Starbucks, SEC Form DEF 14A, filed January 2026 — open this company's SEC filing list
Chief executive total compensation verified
$30,992,773 — Brian Niccol, as reported in the Summary Compensation Table
Median employee total compensation verified
$17,279 — a part-time US barista
Ratio calculated
$30,992,773 ÷ $17,279 = 1,794. The company did not state a ratio in the source we hold, so the Ledger divided the two verified figures.
Retrieved
2026-09-07
Methodology caution
SEC rules let each company choose how it identifies its median employee — whether part-time and seasonal pay is annualized, which countries are included. Ratios are exact within a company and approximate between companies. Full methodology.

The numbers

$30,992,773
Chief executive verified
Brian Niccol, fiscal 2025 total compensation
$17,279
Median employee verified
a part-time US barista
1,794:1
Ratio calculated
S&P 500 average is 312:1
0
Pay Fairness score calculated
0–100, from the ratio alone. Formula
Employee ownership insufficient data
Not disclosed. No company on the ledger yet publishes what share of its stock is held by rank-and-file employees. That silence is itself the finding.
Buybacks & net income insufficient data
Not yet collected for this company. Want to add it? Take the Rebecca Challenge.

What 20 to 1 would look like proposal

This is a Rebecca Ledger model, not a prediction and not something the company has said or done. It caps chief-executive pay at twenty times this company's own median employee, and changes nothing else.

Chief executive today verified$30,992,773
Under a 20× cap proposal$345,580 (20 × $17,279)
Difference calculated$30,647,193
What the difference equals calculatedabout 1,774 more employees paid at this company's own median

The arithmetic is the whole model: one year of the difference, divided by one median salary. It assumes nothing about taxes, share price, or whether the company would do it. It is meant to make a large number legible, not to predict a decision.

Write to someone about it

Wrong about any of this? Send a correction — corrections are published, dated, and never quietly edited.